I Remember You Brother

I remember you brother

Each and every day, I know you are with me

Never far away

Growing up you were my friend, my companion

We fought like brothers and sisters do

Not a picture to be seen, of me

Without a black eye

Sometimes we fought each other

Other times it seemed like we fought the world

I remember our fort, and watching incredible hulk together

I remember drinking milk and laughing until it came out our noses

I remember wearing daddy’s pants, you in one leg and me in the other

I remember the birthdays and the holidays, Christmas and Halloween,

The excitement and the anticipation

I remember, I remember

So many memories, so many experiences

We were always together, whether we liked it or not

Throughout our teens

A part of me lost a part of you

But no matter how far away you were in your own mind

We still had that connections siblings do.

As you grew into an adult, the person that most people saw

Was not the real you

You showed very few the real you

Such a big heart, under all the sorrow

So much love and caring, under all that anger

I wish we could have been closer

I wish I would have tried harder

I remember my amazement, when talking to the people you spent time with

How much you talked about me, even bragged about me

How much you really did look up to me, and the things you would say about me

I had no idea

I wish I had realized

It has been a year since you had to leave us

My heart cries to hear your voice and see your smile one more time

Yet I know, with all of my heart

That you are ok.  That you are happy.

I know that this life had been difficult for you

Now you have no sorrow, no pain,

Never lonely, never unsure or unhappy

Your smile is constant, your heart is free

I love you Brother

I remember you Brother

I miss you

 58815_10202007131170175_1983726653_n

Leave a Reply

