Promotions, Birthdays, Struggles and A New Start

Right now, I am drinking delicious coffee from my Nespresso machine that my mom got me for Christmas last year.   Oh how I love the deliciousness!  I had ran out of the coffee pods a couple of months ago and haven’t been able to have any in a while.  The pods are quite expensive.  So when mom asked me what I wanted for my birthday this year, I told her “More Nespresso Pods!”  Only tonight I am enjoying the secret ingredient of Kahlua!  And eating some leftover chocolate birthday cake.  Is it bad that I went out and bought myself a birthday cake?  And that I am fully planning on eating the entire thing all by myself?  🙂

Last week was bad and good… for many reasons.  With my birthday coming up, I found myself dealing with some mental struggles.  The worst part of the week was the troubles in my relationship.  Troubles so bad, in my mind, that I almost gave it all up.  I was left feeling unsatisfied, and losing hope that anything would change or get better.  However, we decided to put all of that aside and step away from the battered emotions we were both left with.  We would both spend some time thinking and regroup once our emotions weren’t so raw and the open wounds weren’t so exposed.  Our plan was to just celebrate!  Enjoy my birthday and make the most of our time together.  Time that we are not fortunate enough to have as much of together as we used to.

My birthday was wonderful! I got up Saturday and started drinking my traditional birthday mimosas, watched a movie and did my nails.  Eric got home from class and planned a birthday picnic on the beach.  It was a beautiful spring day to have a picnic! Oh yea, and I finally got to wear the new dress that Eric got me for an early birthday present!  We hung out on the beach for quite a long time then headed to my favorite Mexican restaurant, Ole, for drinks and dinner.  Jumbo mango margarita for me!  At some point Eric snuck and let our server know it was my birthday so they brought out the traditional sombrero to put on my head, sang me happy birthday an Spanish, and presented us with two tequila shots in these adorable cactus shot glasses!  What a fun night.  I am sure that my face turned as red as my hear, and the sombrero.  Before the end of the night, the owner brought us over two more tequila shots, on the house.

Sunday we got up early and headed to the Eastern Shore.  We had a date for a kayak ride and winery tour at Holly Grove Winery.  Definitely a day full of activities to add to our “something new every month” list.  We had a great time kayaking the waters, enjoying how peaceful and beautiful it was.  And enjoying our time together.  Before headed back home, we stopped in Cape Charles to eat at a fun little irish pub we like.  Monday, I had the day off.  We pretty much spent the entire day lounging around on the couch, recovering from a long weekend of fun, celebration, activities and excitement.

Another exciting part of my week – bittersweet – was that my supervisor let me know that he had gotten a new job and would be moving to DC.  The good news is that they offered me the promotion into his position!  I excitedly accepted!  I am proud of myself for being offered a promotion after only six months at the organization.  A promotion that means more work and more responsibility but I feel very confident and am up for the challenge!

For now, I am going to be working very hard to impress with this new promotion.  All is good on that front and I am excited to see what the future brings.  On the personal front – I still have some things to think about, some decisions to make and some conversations to have… when the time is right.

Rejoice in whatever life gives you.  Do not crave otherwise.  Know that whatever you have been given is for your own highest good.

The world spins without your help, people do what they do, and your life will run its course one way or the other.  Sometimes your plans don’t work out.  You can decide not to get upset, anxious, or angry about things over which you have no power.  You can choose to do your job and live your life with integrity, compassion, mindful observance, and a healthy sense of humor.

Maybe I had been looking at things all wrong.  Maybe I had been expecting too much.  Those are still thoughts I am contemplating.  Until things become more clear, I have decided that the best way to look at the struggles is to realize that I am blessed to have what I do.  And maybe I need to be more grateful and less demanding?  The best way to look at things, for the moment, is that we have been given another chance.  An opportunity to make a new start and to make the most of each and every moment.

 

Leave a Reply

